Skip to main content

Congratulations to student team “Bullseye” who won the biomedical engineering category at last night’s Fall 2019 Georgia Tech Capstone Design Expo. The team developed a device to reduce the risk of aspiration during upper gastrointestinal endoscopy procedures. This procedure is typically the first step when diagnosing esophageal and stomach diseases.


The winning BME team members are Oscar Gutierrez, Doraville, GA; Ahmed Alnamos, Watertown, MA; Nishani Kanthasamy, Alpharetta, GA; and Sondos Alnamos, Watertown MA. The team’s project sponsor was gastroenterologist Dr. Anand Sagar Jain at Emory Healthcare.


“The device we developed reduces the risk of aspiration by reducing the volume of fluid that can travel from the esophagus to the lungs,” said Ahmed Alnamos. “Our device also allows more outpatient procedures versus general anesthesia procedures—helping to free up the operating room and saving anesthesia resources.”


According to Sondos Alnamos, “the device is completely compatible with the endoscope and does not impact any of its functionality, and more procedures can be performed using the device.”


143 teams from seven schools and two colleges competed for prizes at this year's Georgia Tech Fall Capstone Design Expo as students showcased their senior projects. As the largest student design competition of its kind, Capstone is attracting sponsors from all over Georgia, from local fixtures like the Atlanta Hawks, the CDC, Cox Automotive, Emory Hospital, Georgia Department of Transportation, and Southwire, to national brands including Camelbak, Cisco, General Electric, General Motors, Lockheed Martin, the United States Air Force, and Under Armour.



The complete results from last night’s Capstone Design Expo are shown below:


Best Overall Winner - Sky's the Limit, sponsored by Delta Airlines

Carolina Llerena (ISYE) - San Mateo, CA

Thomas Suh  (ISYE) - Augusta, GA

Kelsey Keith (ISYE) - Woodstock, GA

Mack Hathaway  (ISYE) - Atlanta, GA

Afreen Fahad (ISYE) - Mount Olive, NJ

Christine Valerie (ISYE) - Charlotte, NC

Madison Messier (ISYE) - Atlanta, GA

Priya Sharma (ISYE) - Alpharetta, GA


Aerospace Engineering - Flyright

Zivan Bholai (AE) - Orlando, FL

Denise Woode (AE) - Damascus, Maryland

Vikas Molleti (AE) - St. Pete Beach, Florida

Hamidreza Nazemi (AE) - Houston, TX

Emily Glover (AE) - Lawrenceville, Georgia


Biomedical Engineering – Bullseye, sponsored by Dr. Anand Sagar Jain at Emory Healthcare

Oscar Gutierrez (BME) - Doraville, GA

Ahmed Alnamos (BME) - Watertown, MA

Nishani Kanthasamy (BME) - Alpharetta, GA

Sondos Alnamos (BME) - Watertown MA


Civil and Envronmental Engineering- Still Design Group, sponsored by Georgia Tech's Office of Capital Planning and Space Management

Kimmie Hernandez (CE) - Sandy Springs, GA

Rachel Still (CE) - Ponte Vedra Beach, FL

Poonam Patel (CE) - Palm Harbor, FL

Danielle Kronowski (CE) - Augusta, GAystems


Electrical and Computer Engineering- Backup Key Generation for Encrypted Website Data

Matthew Riley  (CMPE) - Decatur, GA

Maddy Parnall(EE) - Charleston, SC

Kee Hong (CMPE) - Seoul, South Korea

Michael Brzozowski (CMPE) - Manhasset, NY

Trenton Bruno (CMPE) - Warner Robins, GA

Reid Barton (EE) - Los Gatos, CA

Michael Lewis (CMPE) - Gainesville, FL


Industrial and Systems Engineering- Authority Life, sponsored by GWCCA

Peyton Skinner (ISYE) - Atlanta, GA

Mayke Vercruyssen (ISYE) - Atlanta, GA

Daniel Alayo-Matos (ISYE) - Miami, FL

Yihua Xu I(ISYE) - Hangzhou, China

Yunsang Kim (ISYE) - Seoul Korea

Brandon Kang (ISYE) - Duluth, GA

Emily Kornegay (ISYE) - Thomasville, GA

Hailun Chang (ISYE) - Taiwan


Industrial Design and Mechanical Engineering- Last Mile

Seunghyun Choe (ME) - Seoul, South Korea

Kai Zhang  (ID) - Qingdao, China

David Xu (ME) - Johns Creek

Francis Lin (ID) - Shenzhen

Uyen My Tran (ID) - Lilburn, GA


Mechanical Engineering- Drink and Thrive

Ryan Bogan (CS) - Libertyville, IL

Eric Ricci (CS) - Long Beach, NY

Sean Fitzpatrick (ME) - Yardley, PA

Alexander Gibson (ME) - Roswell, GA

Thomas Malchodi (ME) - Acton, GA


Best Interdisciplinary (Two Teams Tied)

Calibration Nation, sponsored by Cox Automotive

Alex Schwartz (CMPE) - Manhasset, NY

Oguzhan Yilmaz(EE) - Istanbul, Turkey

Caroline Eckrote (ME) - Suwanee, GA

Lionel Jones (CMPE) - Fayetteville, GA

Eric Hsieh (EE) - San Diego, CA

Beatriz Dias(ME) - Roswell, GA



Nick Zhao (EE) - Mason, OH

Izaan Kamal (CS) - Rochester, NY

Vibhav Bhat (CS) - Andover, MA

Jared Canty (EE) - Johnson City, TN

Mark Saleh (ME) - Charlotte, NC

Ryan Yeung (ME) - Roswell, GA

Alex Butterwick (ME) - Alpharetta, GA