Skip to main content
Coulter BME Announces Spring 2024 Department Award Student Winners
Posted April 29, 2024



The Wallace H. Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering at Georgia Tech and Emory University has announced the winners of its departmental awards for the 2023-24 academic year. A dozen undergraduate and graduate students were recognized for excellence in research and academics.

“The significance of these awards goes beyond mere recognition; they serve as a testament to the hard work, dedication, and perseverance of these students throughout their journeys with us here in BME,” says Essy Behravesh, Director of Student Services. “These qualities define the very fabric of Georgia Tech's ethos.”

Undergraduate Awards: 
Outstanding Academic Achievement Award: Isabella Stagg for outstanding academic performance.

Outstanding Academic Service Award: Marianne Al Haj for contributing to the student educational experience at Georgia Tech both inside and outside the classroom.

Outstanding Community Service Award: Annie Keller for making service an integral part of her college experience.

S.K. Jain Outstanding Research: KiYoung Jeong for demonstrating outstanding research skills and sharing her work with the broader research community.

Outstanding Industrial Experience: Riya Shah for performing exceptional work in, and demonstrating significant commitment to, the biomedical engineering industry through internship, cooperative education, or international work experiences and for demonstrating entrepreneurial spirit and initiative in turning their innovative ideas into reality.

G. D. Jain Outstanding Senior: Jorik Stoop for exemplifying all–around excellence through their significant accomplishments.

Outstanding Junior/ CoE Honors: Jenna Corbin for their strong academic performance, leadership and service.

Graduate Awards: 
Outstanding Community Service: Gbermi Aderbige for providing significant education, outreach, or community service to the larger community. 

Outstanding Departmental Service: Jakari Harris for demonstrating leadership or providing academic support within the Department.

Outstanding Fundamental/Basic Research: Arpit Aggarwal for performing exceptional fundamental research, leading to high impact publications in non-translational-focused journals and presentations at national/international conferences.

Outstanding Entrepreneurship/Translational Research: Athena Chien for demonstrating excellence in translational research or having an entrepreneurial spirit.

Outstanding Teaching/Mentorship: Alyssa Montalbine for demonstrating excellence in teaching or mentorship in the classroom, the lab, or elsewhere in the community.  

Each winner receives $500 as part of their award recognition.



Kelly Petty  
Wallace H. Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering